The Kammerstreicher is the Wartburg College chamber orchestra. Formed in 2014 by Dr. Daniel Kaplunas, the Kammerstreicher is now led by Dr. Jacob Tews, who also conducts the Wartburg Community Symphony Orchestra. The group is comprised of Wartburg students who pursue a variety of majors but have in common skills on violin, viola, cello, and bass.

Repertoire for Kammerstreicher concerts is best described as “eclectic.” Recent performances have featured Baroque and Classical works by Bach, Corelli, and Mozart, standard string orchestra pieces by Britten and Warlock, and arrangements of songs by the Beatles and Radiohead. The group even branches into the realm of improvisation, exploring jazz and bluegrass alongside contemporary classical improvisations and aleatoric music. Since the ensemble is chamber orchestra-sized, opportunities abound for student solos from within the group.

While there have been chamber orchestras at the Wartburg throughout its history, the group became an official curricular ensemble in 2014. In 2016, members of the group agreed upon a name change as the orchestra continued its growth in on- and off-campus visibility. The new name is a nod to Wartburg’s rich German heritage—Kammerstreicher means “chamber strings”—and also stems from a desire of the group to reshape expectations for what a chamber orchestra can be and do.

The group, which stresses collaborative rehearsals—Dr. Tews even plays along with the group sometimes!—and a familial atmosphere, performs twice each semester, including participating in Christmas with Wartburg. Kammerstreicher joins with the Wartburg Castle Singers for their annual tours, with an upcoming (winter 2017) series of concerts from Iowa all the way to Florida.

For additional information or to schedule an audition for the ensemble, please contact Dr. Tews.

Director & Conductor

Jacob Tews

Director-in-Residence of Orchestras and Strings

2017-18 MEMBERS

Violin I
Andrea NitzRacine, Wis.Adam KraftBoone
Ethan PfaltzgraffReadlyn
Matthew JacobsonNaperville, Ill.
Jacob TewsWaverly
Jonah KruseDes Moines

Violin II
Patrick JonesColorado Springs, Colo.
Britni Cohen-WichnerStoughton, Wis.
Rachel PerkinsJanesville, Wis.
Taylor LooseDawson, Minn.

Emily CookAlexandria, Minn.
Lydia RevierOwatonna, Minn.
Adeline AngstPine Island, Minn.
Greta ChristiansonShawnee, Kan.
Spencer BartonDavenport
Kendall MaxwellAndover, Minn.

Levi LooseDawson, Minn.
Caroline MadsenBloomington, Minn.
Allison CahillCedar Rapids
Benjamin EvansMarion

Benjamin PetersStorm Lake
Gabrielle WayGarfield, Minn.
Oliviya CaruthersDavenport
Cameron TrupeOwatonna, Minn.