Academic Calendar
Select an academic year below to view a calendar.

Amended 11/30/20

Finals Schedule (PDF)
Academic Deadlines (PDF) – Fall | Winter | May | Summer

FALL  EVENTS DATE TIME
New Faculty Orientation Monday, Aug.17
Faculty Workshop Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 18-20
New Student Arrival/Orientation Saturday-Tuesday, Aug.22-25
Fall Classes Begin Wednesday, Aug. 26 7:45 a.m.
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 7 (Classes Held)
Midterms Due Wednesday, Oct. 7
1st 7-Weeks End Monday, Oct. 12
2nd 7-Weeks Begin Tuesday, Oct. 13
HOMECOMING and FAMILY WEEKEND – Canceled Thursday – Sunday, Oct. 15-18
Fall Classes End Tuesday, Nov. 24  5:35 p.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins Wednesday, Nov. 25 7:45 a.m.
Remote Instruction Begins  Monday, Nov. 30  
December Commencement*  
Final Exams or Final Activity Monday-Thursday, Nov. 30-Dec.3
*December Commencement has been canceled; there will be a virtual ceremony to honor graduates. 64 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not included in the 64 class days); 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes First Session: Wednesday, Aug. 26-Monday, Oct. 12; 20 MWF; 13 TTH Second Session: Tuesday, Oct. 13-Tuesday, Nov. 24; 18 MWF; 13 TTH
WINTER  EVENTS DATE TIME
Faculty Workshop TBA 8 a.m.
Registration TBA 1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin Monday, Jan. 18 (shortened day to celebrate MLK Jr. Day) 7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day* Monday, Jan. 18
Ash Wednesday Service Wednesday, Feb. 17 (classes dismiss at 9:50 a.m., reconvene at 11 a.m.)
Midterms Due Monday, March 1
Days Off From Classes Feb. 9, Feb. 24, April 2 (Good Friday), April 5 (Easter Monday)
1st 7-Weeks End Thursday, March 4
2nd 7-Weeks Begin Wednesday, March 10
RICE Day  Canceled
Easter Break Begins Thursday, April 1 3:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Tuesday, April 6 7:45 a.m.
Winter Classes End Wednesday, April 21 3:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity Thursday-Tuesday, April 22-27 
Tour Week/Break Wednesday-Sunday, April 28-May 2
*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35.63 class day, 4 exam days; 38 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes. 64 class days, 6 exam days (remote); 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes.  First Session: Monday, Jan. 18-Thursday, March 1; 19 MWF; 13 TTH. Second Session: Friday, March 5- Wednesday, April 21; 19 MWF; 13TTH.
MAY  EVENTS DATE TIME
May Classes Begin Monday, May 3
May Classes End Wednesday, May 26
Final Exams or Final Activity Thursday, May 27
Baccalaureate/Graduation Sunday, May 30
18 class days, 1 exam day: Classes meet 3 hours/day
SUMMER EVENTS DATE TIME
Summer Session I June 7-July 8; Examination July 9
Summer Session II July 12-August 11; Examination August 12
FALL EVENTS DATE TIME
New Faculty Orientation Monday, Aug. 23
Faculty Workshop Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 24-26
New Student Arrival/Orientation Friday-Tuesday, Aug. 27-31
Fall Classes Begin Wednesday, Sept. 1 7:45 a.m.
Labor Day Monday, Sept. 6 (Classes Held)
HOMECOMING and FAMILY WEEKEND Thursday-Sunday, Oct. 7-10
Midterms Due Wednesday, Oct. 13
1st 7-Weeks End Monday, Oct. 15
Fall Break Begins Friday, Oct. 15 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, Oct. 25 7:45 a.m.
2nd 7-Weeks Begin Monday, Oct. 25
Thanksgiving Break Begins Wednesday, Nov. 24 7:45 a.m.
Classes Resume Monday, Nov. 29 7:45 a.m.
Fall Classes End Friday, Dec. 10 5:35 p.m.
December Commencement Sunday, Dec. 12 10:30 a.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity Monday-Thursday, Dec. 13-16
64 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not included in the 64 class days); 38 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes
First Session: Wednesday, Sept. 1-Friday, Oct. 15; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Monday, Oct. 25-Friday, Dec. 10; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
WINTER  EVENTS DATE TIME
Faculty Workshop Friday, Jan. 7 8 a.m.
Registration Friday, Jan. 7 1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin Monday, Jan. 10 7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day* Monday, Jan. 17
Midterms Due Monday, Feb. 21
1st 7-Weeks End Tuesday, Feb. 22
2nd 7-Weeks Begin Wednesday, Feb. 23
Winter Break Begins Friday, Feb. 25 5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, March 7 7:45 a.m.
RICE Day Tuesday, April 12
Winter Classes End Thursday, April 14 9 p.m.
Easter Break Begins Thursday, April 14 9 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity Tuesday-Friday, April 19-22
Tour Week Saturday-Sunday, April 23-May 21
*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35.
63 class days, 4 exam days; 38 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes (65 days does not count RICE)
First Session: Monday, Jan. 10-Tuesday, Feb. 22; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Wednesday, Feb. 23-Thursday, April 14; 19 MWF; 12 TTH
MAY  EVENTS DATE TIME
May Classes Begin Monday, May 2
May Classes End Wednesday, May 25
Final Exams or Final Activity Thursday, May 26
Baccalaureate/Graduation Sunday, May 29
18 class days, 1 exam day: Classes meet 3 hours/day
SUMMER EVENTS DATE TIME
Summer Session I June 6-July 7; Examination July 8
Summer Session II July 11-August 10; Examination August 11