The Wartburg College St. Elizabeth Chorale is a high voice choir that performs a variety of treble literature from different historical periods in music, singing both accompanied and acappella selections for events on and off campus, including Wartburg’s annual Christmas with Wartburg. In 2004, the chorale was a featured group at the North Central Division of the Music Educators National Conference in Cleveland, Ohio.

The St. Elizabeth Chorale takes its name from a famous resident of the college’s namesake, the Wartburg Castle in Eisenach, Germany. Elizabeth (1207-1231) lived at the castle as the wife of a Thuringian landgrave. Inspired by the teachings of her contemporary, St. Francis, she left the castle after her husband’s death and became Germany’s first female Franciscan. She was canonized in 1235.

During St. Elizabeth’s time at the castle, she carried on an active ministry to the less fortunate. According to legend, she smuggled bread from the castle kitchen for the poor. Because the practice was forbidden, she hid the food in her robe. On one such trip, suspicious courtiers accosted Elizabeth and demanded that she open her robe. When she complied, roses had appeared in place of the bread. Today, Wartburg College hosts a service week dedicated to her memory, and roses are a college symbol of service and faith.


2021-22 MEMBERS

Soprano I
Maria Carlson, Savage, Minn.
Brianna Carroll, Lakeville, Minn.
Rebecca Foulker, Darlington, Wis.
Audrey Guyer, Wilton
Selma Kleinsmith, Solon
Abigail O’Dell, Johnsburg, Ill.
Megan Olson, De Soto
Paige Pinegar, Des Moines
Alexis Rios, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Allison Tomlinson, Kaukauna, Wis.

Soprano II
Madison Abels, St. Peter, Minn.
Megan Abens, Humboldt
Annika Anderson, New Ulm, Minn.
Gianna Borer, Webster City
Maggie Buman, Harlan
Lauren Caugh, Plymouth, Minn.
Valerie Feyen, Trempealeau, Wis.
Payton Hass, Hickory Hills, Ill.
Meghan Hicks, St. Stephen, Minn.
Addy Kaune, Waterloo
Maggie Lennon, Fort Dodge
Grace McCartan, Carroll
Molly Mullis, Manchester
Abbey Strong, Grand Mound
Hanna Wolke, Mankato, Minn.

Alto I
Stephanie Allen, Cedar Rapids
Hailey Box, Humboldt
Marlee Boyle, Janesville
Victoria Rose Dietz, Shafer, Minn.
Faith Howard, Prairie City
Lizzy Inselmann, Dayton, Minn.
Carlea Jones, Center Point
Alexis Klug, Cedar Falls
Hayley McNealy, Hampton
Chloe Nixon, Madrid
Kaitlyn Parks, San Antonio, Texas
Rhaena Reece, Cordova, Ill.
Nina Schabow, Hartland, Wis.
Anna Ullestad, West Des Moines

Alto II
Mackenzie Barth, St. Michael, Minn.
Serena Bogenrief, Sioux Center
Elena Downs, Des Moines
Trista Foster, Cresco
Alyson Hasner, Lakeville, Minn.
Amanda Johnson, Cresco
Mary McDonough, Oelwein
Allison McQueen, Fort Wayne, Ind.
Kallista Mohl, Cedar Falls
Della Whittaker, Oshkosh, Wis.
Alyssa Woodward, Amana


Nicki Toliver

Associate Professor of Music / Associate Director of Choral Activities