Founded in 1898, the Wartburg College Concert Bands program is comprised of two ensembles —the Wind Ensemble and the Symphonic Band. Placement in the groups is determined by a yearly audition. Both groups represent students of all class standings and nearly all academic majors. The bands present joint and individual concerts throughout the year. Many of its 150 members are also involved in other music groups on campus, ranging from choirs to jazz bands, from campus ministry to student government.

The Symphonic Band was founded in 1997.  The ensemble performs several on-campus concerts throughout the year in addition to performances around the community and represents students of all class standings and academic majors on campus. Prominent composers Samuel Hazo, Cory McBride, and Jared Barnes have collaborated with the Symphonic Band while guest conductors Dr. Bruce Ammann and Dr. Bruce Gleason along with soloists Susan Rider (trumpet) and Dominique Cawley (flute) have performed with the ensemble in recent years. Audition Materials

2020-21 MEMBERS

Liz Ashing
Maddison Barnhart
Brielle Belden
Rachel Black
Rebekah Corson
Riley Engelhardt
Vanessa Hautekeete
Marley Kiewiet
Kaylee Kueker
Carly Lagge
Kat Meadowcroft
Anna Ohman
Molly Vittetoe

Kale Myers

Hailey Box
Sadie Short

Corinne Dahlby-Albright
Kevon Edwards
Alexis Green
Anna Hemann
Laura Hovenga
Hana Koenigsfeld
Sabrina Lalinde-Fischer
Abby LaVelle
Amber Lawson
Sonja Toulouse
Emma Wehking

Bass Clarinet
Zack Merrifield

Alto Saxophone
Amanda Armstrong
Angelina Jones
Ajith Nathan

Tenor Saxophone
Levi Feltman

Baritone Saxophone
Nelson Cook
Sydney Warner

Megan Abens
Kye Bartlett
Tyler Belan
Kearstin Hansel
Allegra Knudson
Morgan Pruitt
Carson Rygh

Bailey Federspiel
Sam Lockhart
Moriah Morter
Billy Rouw
Jade Sands
Sarah Whipple

Rosie Carter
Dominic Hanson
Kaley Koran
Sam McGreal
Courtney Stucker
Sara Webb

Jacob Esteves
Dillon Kremer
Terren Scragg

Ethan Degroote
Kaitlynne Reddy

Grace Benson
Skylar Cunningham
Blake Hackman
Nran Nemitz
Britta Solheim
Jacy Werning


Scott Muntefering

Associate Professor of Music Education / Eugene and Ruth Weidler Drape Distinguished Professor in Music