Journalism & Communication Awards

Emmy Awards

Critique by professional organizations is an integral component to the educational experience in the Department of Journalism & Communication. Without fail our students continue to impress those in the industry as well as their peers from other institutions during annual competitions.

Wartburg has made an impression with the Associated Collegiate Press and received several accolades including an Online Pacemaker Award, Best in Show for weekly tabloid and Best in Show for multimedia package. The Iowa Broadcast Association has also given a nod to Wartburg including Overall Excellence for Wartburg Television as well as numerous awards in other categories such as first place honors for KWAR sports coverage, best newscast, spot news coverage, features and political coverage. The Iowa College Media Association has recognized the impeccable storytelling that our students do in news, sports casting, long form documentary and public service promotions. The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association (formally known as NBNA) is no stranger to student work from Wartburg. The list of awards and accomplishments is overwhelming and ranges from awards for general reporting to sports play-by-play and documentary work.

The Department of Journalism & Communication belongs to the Society for Collegiate Journalists, one of the oldest organizations for student journalists, and is no stranger to success at their annual competition often sweeping categories altogether. Wartburg is a relative newcomer to the National Academy for Television Arts & Sciences annual competition but has already become a major player with more nominations than any other institution in the last few years and bringing home several crystal pillars.

Student Awards