A Waverly couple with a long history of serving the community and college will receive the Wartburg Medal on Tuesday, Sept. 6.
Stephen and Elaine Main

Stephen and Elaine Main

The contributions of Stephen and Elaine Main will be recognized at the college’s Opening Convocation at 10:15 a.m. in Levick Arena. Stephen is a Wartburg professor emeritus of biology, while Elaine served as the associate director of the Office of Public Information from 1973 to 1989.

Bruce Weber, head men’s basketball coach at Kansas State University and recipient of Wartburg’s 2016 Graven Award, will deliver the convocation address.

Stephen joined the Wartburg faculty in 1972. During his 34-year tenure he taught several biology courses, maintained the college’s greenhouse and the Lageschulte Prairie used for field studies and individual research, and was an expert on the college’s scanning electron microscope. He retired in 2006.

He is a regular presenter at Wartburg’s Philosophical and Literary Society and Keep on Learning community education program. An expert on diatoms, he has given numerous presentations on topics related to algae as well as wildflowers, climate change and wetlands. He offers his expertise on the Waverly Rail Trail Committee and the Upper Cedar River Watershed Management Improvement Authority. Stephen currently serves the college as a Transforming Tomorrow National Campaign Committee member.

In addition to her work at Wartburg, Elaine also edited publications for the Northeastern Iowa Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America for 18 years. Her community involvement includes the Waverly Public Library Board of Directors, Wartburg Women and North Star Community Service Board of Directors.

The Mains are avid supporters of the Wartburg Community Symphony Association, both having served as members of its board of directors. Elaine also chaired the symphony’s publicity committee and created and maintained a historical scrapbook for many years. The Mains are members of the President’s Round Table, Heritage Society and Tower Society, and have supported biology research and construction of the Science Center. Both are active members of Redeemer Lutheran Church and the Waverly Food Secure Network.

A list of past Wartburg Medal recipients can be found at www.wartburg.edu/president.