Academic Affairs has announced the following new faculty positions for the 2011-12 academic year:

Dr. Joy Trachte Becker ’97, associate professor of mathematics, is a Wartburg College graduate. After earning her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees at Iowa State University, she joined the faculty at the University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie, where she earned tenure in 2008. She directed UW-Stout’s Applied Mathematics and Computer Science Program from 2009 to 2011.

Rachel Clark, instructor in English, is a graduate of Ohio State University, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in English and German, a master’s degree in English literature and is completing a Ph.D. in English literature. She previously taught at Kenyon College, Gambier, Ohio.

Dr. LeAnn Faidley, assistant professor of engineering, spent the past five years as an assistant professor in the mechanical engineering department at Iowa State University. She earned B.S. degrees in physics and engineering science and an M.S. degree in engineering mechanics at Iowa State. She completed a second M.S. degree in mechanical engineering and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering at Ohio State University.

Lizabeth Ann Gehring, lecturer in English and secondary education, earned a bachelor’s degree in English at Ohio University and a Master of Arts in Teaching degree at the University of Iowa. She is completing a Doctor of Education degree in instructional leadership, teaching, and learning at Argosy University Online. She spent the past nine years as an adjunct faculty member at Lake Erie College and Lakeland Community College, both in Ohio. Before that, she taught English at Kirkwood Community College in Cedar Rapids and at Anamosa High School.

Dr. Daniel Kaplunas, assistant professor of music and conductor of the Wartburg Community Symphony, earned his Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees in violin performance from the University of North Texas and completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree in violin performance at the University of Georgia. He served on the Georgia College & State University faculty and conducted the University Orchestra from 2006 to 2010. In 2010-11, he taught on the music faculty at Agnes Scott College and directed the Agnes Scott College Community Orchestra.

Dr. Jennifer McBride, assistant professor of religion and Regents Chair in Ethics, was a visiting lecturer at Candler School of Theology at Emory University and program director of the Atlanta Theological Association’s Certificate in Theological Studies at Metro State Prison for Women. She completed her bachelor’s degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and earned her master’s degree and Ph.D. in religious studies from the University of Virginia.

Dr. Fred Ribich, interim vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty, has served on the Wartburg faculty since 1977. He is a professor of psychology and director of institutional research and assessment. He earned a B.A. degree at Ohio University and completed his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees at Southern Illinois University. 

Bridget Schulz, instructor in communication arts, earned an A.A. degree in general studies from North Iowa Area Community College and a B.A. in general communication and M.A. in communication education at the University of Northern Iowa. She was executive program coordinator for the National Coalition for Campus Children’s Centers at UNI for five years and has taught oral communication at Hawkeye Community College. 

Bill Soesbe, instructor in education, previously served as school partnerships coordinator. He holds an A.A. degree from Ellsworth Community College and a B.A. degree in science education and M.A.E. degree in middle school education from the University of Northern Iowa. He is completing a Ph.D. in educational leadership at Iowa State University. He taught junior high science in the Waverly-Shell Rock School District before joining the Wartburg staff.

Dr. Daniel Sundblad, assistant professor of sociology, previously taught at Berry College in Mt. Berry, Ga. He earned a bachelor’s degree from Bethel University in St. Paul, Minn., and a master’s degree and Ph.D. in sociology from Iowa State University.

Stephanie TeKippe, interim assistant dean for academic affairs, completed her bachelor’s degree in education at Iowa State University. She holds a master’s degree in instructional technology from the University of Northern Iowa and is completing a Ph.D. in educational leadership and technology from the University of Phoenix. Since coming to Wartburg in 2007, she has served as a lecturer in computer science and an educational technology consultant.

Dr. Danelle Wilbraham, lecturer in psychology, earned a B.A. degree from Denison University in Ohio and completed her M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in cognitive psychology at The Ohio State University. She previously taught psychology at Columbus State Community College, Columbus, Ohio.