The Wartburg Ritterchor was founded in 1997 and follows Wartburg’s rich German Lutheran tradition of choral singing. Translated from German to English, Ritterchor means “Knights Choir.” In connection with Wartburg’s heritage Ritterchor seeks to honor the Wartburg Castle, where Martin Luther once lived disguised as a knight.

The goal of the Ritterchor is to provide students with the opportunity to further develop their musical gifts and talents. Ritterchor is open to all male students at Wartburg College. The group performs a variety of literature for events on and off campus. While working in a fun and friendly environment, Ritterchor members seek to produce a sound distinct and unique to a superior men’s choir.

The Ritterchor has been invited to be the featured choir at various festivals and concerts throughout the Midwest. The Ritterchor has also combined forces with other performing ensembles to present masterwork concerts, including J. S. Bach’s Magnificat, Vivaldi’s Gloria, and Faure’s Requiem. In 2017, members of the group performed a sold out show called The Glory of Freedom, with Dr. Lee Nelson as director, at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

The Ritterchor also performs in Wartburg’s annual holiday concert, Christmas with Wartburg. The Ritterchor has produced seven compact disc recordings.

Ritterchor at Carnegie Hall

Ritterchor and Festival Chorus at Carnegie Hall


2017-18 MEMBERS

Tenor 1
Jack Aagesen, Des Moines
Riley Anderson, Cedar Rapids
Tim Baird, Denver, Colo.
A.J. Borroz, Indianola
Blake Cipperly, Anoka, Minn.
Aaron Craig, Story City
Travone Gray, Minneapolis, Minn.
Bryan Grubb, Des Moines
Dominic Hanson, La Farge, Wis.
Ethan Peter, Stewartville
Ethan Pruisman, Mason City
Kyle Ruckman, Fairfield
Blake Shipman, Rock Falls, Ill.

Bass 1
Garrett Arensdorf, Asbury
Juan Astiazaran, Phoenix, Ariz.
Spencer Barton, Davenport
Christian Brothers, Navarre, Fla.
Hugh Brown, Iowa City
Connor DeJong, Marion
Freddie Eden, Wesley
Michael Etler, Spencer
Jami Goetz, Buffalo Center
Jake Hamilton, Algona
Matthew Jacobson, Naperville, Ill.
Luis Jimenez, Kansas City, Mo.
Paul Jordan, Delafield, Wis.
Alex Kooker, Iowa City
Jacob Lamb, Madison Lake, Minn.
Noah Melz, Buffalo Center
Michael Nelson, Des Moines
Andy Newell, Waverly
Joe Peer, Des Moines
Ethan Pfaltzgraff, Readlyn
Bryce Shutt, Grimes
Cole Svestka, Decorah
Samuel Thomas, Fayette
Cameron Trupe, Owatonna, Minn.
Daniel Volkmann, Phoenix, Ariz.
Trevor Weidemann, West Union

Tenor 2
Justin Beals, Indianola
Cory Brannaman, Mount Vernon
Levi Capesius, Algona
Michael Dillon, Washington
Samuel Engelken, Manchester
Mark Fakler, West Bend
Brian Hamilton, Cedar Falls
Wyatt Hintermeister, Tama-Toledo
John Hoehn, Waseca, Minn.
Reid Kallenbach, Norwalk
Matt Kerns, Des Moines
Ben Klooster, West Des Moines
Brandon Lange, Stewartville, Minn.
Ben Mason, Clear Lake
Aaron Mensing, Grimes
Dakota Moore, Elgin
Austin Petersen, Swea City
Micah Russell, Mount Vernon
Yusuf Saadu, Nigeria
Mitchell Stover, Gilbertville
Hunter Werner, Fruitland
Michael Zhang, Avondale, Ariz.
Joel Zimmerman, Marion

Bass 2
Tyler Amick, Austin, Minn.
Dalton Bunnell, Beacon
Brett Guy, Ankeny
Chris Hale, San Antonio, Texas
Michael Hettinger, Aurora
Jake Huntley, Dodge Center, Minn.
John Krull, Hampton
Garrett Lane, Crystal, Minn.
Jon Mohwinkle, Aplington
Chris Nicolet, Clive
Landon Stalzer, Story City
Kai Oelschlager, Wanamingo, Minn.
Codey Olson, Bellevue
Elijah Price, Grimes
Jack Radke, Princeton, Minn.
Carter Shaull, Dyersville

Nathan Stephany, accompanist, Huxley


Lee Nelson

Professor of Music / Zahn Chair in Choral Conducting