Matthew A. Armstrong

Dr. Jane AndrewsVisiting Assistant Professor of Music
Conducts the Castle Singers (Jazz Choir) and
St. Elizabeth Chorale (Women’s Choir)
Teaches Choral (5-12), General Music (K-8), and Voice Methods
Supervises student teachers and teaches Contemporary Issues in Music Education

Office: FAC 15
Phone: 319-352-8630

Prior to joining the faculty at Wartburg College, Matthew Armstrong spent 14 years teaching music at all age levels from K-12, most recently in the Cedar Rapids (IA) School District.  Professor Armstrong’s vast experience as a high school choral director includes leading concert, chamber, madrigal, jazz, and show choirs.  He has the distinction of having received division “I” superior ratings with perfect ballots in each of these categories.  Armstrong’s choirs have earned numerous top awards, and his concert and jazz choirs have been selected to perform at three regional and national conferences of the American Choral Directors Association.

In addition to his teaching, Armstrong also sings with The Marshalls, a vocal trio that performs and records Christian music with contemporary, jazz, and country flavors.  The Marshalls have recorded with producers Peter Eldridge, Jonathan Martin, Chris McDonald, Gail Lennon, Kenny Royster, Monty Allen, and Danny Crawford.  Their latest album, “Sing Hallelujah!” was recorded at Dan Rudin Studio in Nashville, TN. 

Professor Armstrong earned a Bachelor of Music Education degree from Wartburg College, where he served as President of the Wartburg Choir, founding member of Ritterchor, and was recognized with the Dean’s Award for Outstanding Research or Performance beyond the Regular Requirements of Wartburg College: Serenade Men’s A Cappella Group.  He also holds a Master of Music Education Degree from VanderCook College of Music in Chicago, where he studied conducting with Robert Sinclair and David Rayl.

He has presented clinics and lectures at VanderCook College of Music as well as regional ACDA and IMEA conferences, and stays active as a clinician, adjudicator, and conductor of honor choir festivals.