Biology Faculty & Staff

About the Faculty
The professors in the Wartburg Biology Department have earned the highest academic degree in their field, the doctorate. They have experience and expertise in genetics, human physiology, anatomy, developmental biology, cell and molecular biology, biochemistry, ecology, marine biology, learning theory, gender and science issues, science curricula, earth science, field biology, and environmental microbiology.

At Wartburg, student/faculty interaction is encouraged. Every faculty member is dedicated to the success of each student. All biology majors conduct independent research under the guidance of a faculty member. Click here to see the advising expertise of the biology faculty (PDF).

Dr. Ann. L. Henninger
Dr. Ann L. Henninger (1983)
Chair, Professor of Biology; A.B., 1968, Wilson College; Ph.D., 1973, University of Michigan.
Personal Web Page
Email: Ann.Henninger@wartburg.edu
Bechtel

Dr. Michael Bechtel (2013)
Assistant Professor of Science Education; B.A., Wartburg College, 1994; M.Ed., University of Wisconsin, 2007; Ed.D., Edgewood College, 2012
Personal Web Page
Email: michael.bechtel@wartburg.edu

Dr. Johanna Foster
Dr. Johanna Foster (2006)
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S., University of Nevada, Reno, M.Phil., Ph.D., University of Kansas
Personal Web Page
Email: Johanna.Foster@wartburg.edu
Larimer
Dr. Samantha Larimer Bousquet (2008)
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
B.A., Earlham College; Ph.D., Cornell University (New York)
Personal Web Page
E-mail: Samantha.Larimer@wartburg.edu
Maxwell

Dr. Jennifer Maxwell (2013)
Visiting Assistant Professor of Biology
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2009; B.S. Trinity (Conn.) College, 2003
Personal Web Page
E-mail: jennifer.maxwell@wartburg.edu

Dr. Keith McClung
Dr. J. Keith McClung (1998) 
Professor of Biology; B.A., B.S., 1977, Ph.D., 1983, West Virginia University.
Personal Web Page
Email: Keith.Mcclung@wartburg.edu
Dr. David A. McCullough
Dr. David A. McCullough (1998)
Professor of Biology; B.A., 1982, University of Dallas; M.S., 1985, Ph.D., 1991, Texas Tech University.
Personal Web Page
Email: David.Mccullough@wartburg.edu
 
Merten

Dr. Eric C. Merten (2012)
Assistant Professor of Biology; B.A., Luther College, 1996; M.S., University of Minnesota, 1999; Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2009
Personal Web Page
Email: eric.merten@wartburg.edu

Dr. Stephanie Toering
Dr. Stephanie Toering Peters (2005)
Associate Professor of Biology; B.S., 1996, Hope College, Ph.D., 2003, Stanford University.
Personal Web Page 
Email: stephanie.toering@wartburg.edu
Dr. Roy M. Ventullo
Dr. Roy M. Ventullo (1994) 
Myrle M. Burk - Vera Burk Will Chair in Biology, Director of Undergraduate Research, Professor of Biology; B.S., 1972, M.S., 1974, State University of New York at Brockport; Ph.D., 1977, University of Georgia at Athens.
Personal Web Page
Email: Roy.Ventullo@wartburg.edu
Dr. Edward A Western
Dr. Edward A. Westen (2003)
Associate Professor of Biology;  B.A., University of Wisconsin-Green Bay (1997); Ph.D. Indiana University School of Medicine (2002); Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of California-San Diego School of Medicine (2003).
Personal Web Page 
Email: ed.westen@wartburg.edu
Mary Peters
Mary Peters 
Office Coordinator, Mathematics & Science Depts.
Email: Mary.Peters@wartburg.edu
Julie Paladino

Julie Paladino
Laboratory Supervisor, Biology
Email: Juliann.Paladino@wartburg.edu

Eric
Eric Berns (2007)
Laboratory Coordinator; B.A., 2000, University of Northern Iowa; M.S., 2007, University of Northern Iowa
Email: Eric.Berns@wartburg.edu
Jeff Hemingson
Jeff Hemingson 
Maintenance and Repair
Email: Jeffrey.Hemingson@wartburg.edu