Academic Calendars

2013-2014 Academic Calendar

Finals Schedule (PDF)
Dates to Remember - Fall | Winter | May | Summer (PDF
)

FALL 2013 EVENTS
DATE
TIME
New Faculty Orientation
Monday, Aug. 26
...
Faculty Workshop
Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 27-29
...
New Student Arrival/Orientation
Friday-Tuesday, Aug. 30-Sept. 3
...
Fall Classes Begin
Wednesday, Sept. 4
7:45 a.m.
FAMILY WEEKEND
Friday-Sunday, Oct. 4-6
...
HOMECOMING
Friday-Sunday, Oct. 11-13
...
Fall Break Begins
Thursday, Oct. 24
7:45 a.m.
Classes Resume
Monday,  Oct. 28
7:45 a.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins (one-week break)
Friday, Nov. 22
5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday, Dec. 2
7:45 a.m.
Fall Classes End
Tuesday, Dec. 10
5:35 p.m.
Study Day
Wednesday, Dec. 11
...
Final Exams or Final Activity
Thursday-Friday, Dec. 12-13 and Monday-Tuesday, Dec. 16-17
...
December Commencement
Sunday, Dec. 15
10:30 a.m.

63 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not one of the 63 class days); 38 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes
First Session: Wednesday, Sept. 4- Friday, Oct. 18; 20 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Monday, Oct. 21 - Tuesday, Dec. 10; 18 MWF; 12 TTH

WINTER 2014 EVENTS
DATE
TIME
Faculty Workshop
Friday, Jan. 3
8 a.m.
Registration
Friday, Jan. 3
1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin
Monday,  Jan. 6
7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day*
Monday, Jan. 20
...
Ash Wednesday Service
Wednesday, March 5 (Classes dismiss at 9:50 a.m., reconvene at 11 a.m.)
Winter Break Begins
Friday, March 7
5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday,  March 17
7:45 a.m.
RICE Day
Thursday, April 10
...
Winter Classes End
Friday, April 11
5:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity
Monday-Thursday, April 14-17
...
Tour Week
Sunday-Sunday, April 20-27 (includes Easter)
...

*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:458:35; 8:45-9:35;...

63 class days, 4 exam days; 37 MWF classes; 26 TTH classes (RICE is not one of the 63 days)
First Session: Monday, Jan. 6 - Wednesday, Feb. 19; 20 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Thursday, Feb. 20 - Friday, April 11; 18 MWF; 13 TTH

MAY 2014 EVENTS
DATE
TIME
May Classes Begin
Monday,  April 28
...
May Classes End
Wednesday,  May 21
...
Final Exams or Final Activity
Thursday, May 22
...
Baccalaureate/Graduation
Sunday, May 25
...
18 class days, 1 exam day/Classes meet 3 hours/day
...
SUMMER 2014 EVENTS
DATE
TIME
Summer Session I
June 2 - July 2; Examination July 3
...
Summer Session II
July 7 - August 6; Examination August 7

 

2014-2015 Academic Calendar

Finals Schedule (PDF)
Dates to Remember - Fall | Winter | May (PDF
)

FALL EVENTS
DATE
TIME
New Faculty Orientation
Monday, Aug. 25
...
Faculty Workshop
Tuesday-Thursday, Aug. 26-28
...
New Student Arrival/Orientation
Friday-Tuesday, Aug. 29-Sept. 2
...
Fall Classes Begin
Wednesday, Sept. 3
7:45 a.m.
FAMILY WEEKEND
Friday-Sunday, Sept. 26-28
...
HOMECOMING
Friday-Sunday, Oct. 17-19
...
Fall Break Begins
Thursday, Oct. 23
7:45 a.m.
Classes Resume
Monday,  Oct. 27
7:45 a.m.
Thanksgiving Break Begins*
Wednesday, Nov. 26
1:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday, Dec. 1
7:45 a.m.
Fall Classes End
Friday, Dec. 5
5:35 p.m.
Study Days
Monday-Tuesday, Dec. 8-9
...
Final Exams or Final Activity
Wednesday-Saturday, Dec. 10-13
...
December Commencement
Sunday, Dec. 14
10:30 a.m.

*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.:  7:45-8:35; 8:45-9:35; ....

63 class days, 4 exam days; (Outfly is not one of the 63 class days); 38 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes
First Session: Wednesday, Sept. 3- Friday, Oct. 17; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Monday, Oct. 20 - Friday, Dec. 5; 19 MWF; 12 TTH

WINTER EVENTS
DATE
TIME
Registration
Friday, Jan. 2
10:45 a.m.
Faculty Workshop
Friday, Jan. 2
1 p.m.
Winter Classes Begin
Monday,  Jan. 5
7:45 a.m.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day*
Monday, Jan. 19
...
Ash Wednesday Service
Wednesday, Feb. 18 (Classes dismiss at 9:50 a.m., reconvene at 11 a.m.)
Winter Break Begins
Friday, Feb. 27
5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Monday,  March 9
7:45 a.m.
Easter Break Begins
Thursday, April 2
5:35 p.m.
Classes Resume
Tuesday, April 7
7:45 a.m.
RICE Day
Thursday, April 9
...
Winter Classes End
Friday, April 10
5:35 p.m.
Final Exams or Final Activity
Monday-Thursday, April 13-16
...
Tour Week
Sunday-Sunday, April 19-26
...

*Classes in periods 1-6 will meet for 50 minutes with a 10-minute break between classes and no chapel, i.e.: 7:458:35; 8:45-9:35;...

62 class days, 4 exam days; 37 MWF classes; 25 TTH classes (RICE is not one of the 62 days)
First Session: Monday, Jan. 5 - Tuesday, Feb. 17; 19 MWF; 13 TTH
Second Session: Wednesday, Feb. 18 - Friday, April 10; 18 MWF; 12 TTH

MAY EVENTS
DATE
TIME
May Classes Begin
Monday,  April 27
...
May Classes End
Wednesday,  May 20
...
Final Exams or Final Activity
Thursday, May 21
...
Baccalaureate/Graduation
Sunday, May 24
...
18 class days, 1 exam day/Classes meet 3 hours/day
...
SUMMER EVENTS
DATE
TIME
Summer Session I
June 1 - July 1; Examination July 2
...
Summer Session II
July 6 - August 5; Examination August 6