Fourteen Wartburg College students were selected for the 2015 Iowa Collegiate Honor Band.

The band will perform Friday, Nov. 20, 2:30 p.m., in the Nevada High School auditorium. The performance, held in conjunction with the Iowa Music Educators Association Conference, is free and open to the public.

Participants include: 

  • Allison Coe, bass clarinet, sophomore, music therapy and education
  • Noah Hickman tuba, sophomore, music education
  • Emily Brekunitch, flute, junior, music education
  • Anna Henrich, clarinet, junior, music education
  • Maria Silva, flute, junior, music performance
  • Ally Ziegenfuss, percussion, junior, music education
  • Joseph Amsberry, trumpet, senior, music education
  • Levi Endelman, alto sax, senior, biochemistry and biology
  • Erin Gleason, euphonium, senior, music therapy
  • Daniel Haack, trumpet, senior, communication arts
  • Andy Heckroth, alto sax, senior, history
  • A.J. Skinner, euphonium, senior, music education
  • Jessica Turnlund, French horn, senior, elementary education
  • Catherine Wilcox, clarinet, senior, music education

The band represents the best collegiate band students from across the state, with nominations coming from 19 community colleges, colleges and universities.

Craig Hancock, Wartburg's director of bands, said the selection process is often weighted toward music majors because of the partnership with IMEA.

“The fact that several of the Wartburg students are not music majors speaks highly of our training at the college and the experiences they receive here,” he said.

Wartburg was one of only three schools that had all of its nominees selected for the honor.